All management requires metrics to measure the effectiveness of the actions we implement, but in social networks, it is not enough to limit ourselves to vain metrics.

Today I want to talk about the formula to calculate engagement in social networks (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Linkedin). On the Internet, you will find different formulas to calculate the ratio of interactions.

What is engagement?

Engagement is the commitment and the way a follower interacts with a brand. Basically, this is a term that measures in a certain way the degree of interaction between a brand and users.

How do we get engagement?

To get a good engagement in social networks we must think about the audience and not so much on our brand. From the selection of the contents that will be published to how we will provoke them to react with our content. In many cases, the simple fact of adding the link to the top or a final message that we expect comments, causes the engagement to fire. Of course, it is not a question of pushing or making SPAM asking for all the time that they do RT or that they share our contents.

How do we calculate engagement in social networks?

There are many formulas to measure engagement and this is mainly due to the metrics we use to define engagement in social networks. I put an example with a publication of my fan page and then I’ll go sharing the engagement and CTR formulas that you can use with your brand.

 The basic engagement metrics would be:

  • Reactions
    • Like
    • Sees it
    • Haha
    • WOW
    • Sad
    • Angry
  • Comments
  • Share

However, click metrics in a post or tweet could also be part of the engagement, as they are interactions. These metrics would be:

  • Photo views
  • Link Clicks
  • Other clicks

I particularly like to exclude them and I use another formula to measure the CTR (click-through rate).

Starting from this first definition of engagement metrics we can better calculate our engagement rate.

Engagement Metrics in Social Networks

To help you measure your engagement ratio better, I share the engagement metrics of the major social networks.



  • Reactions (I like, love, etc.)
  • Comments
  • Share
  • Clicks on images and multiple clicks
  • Clicks on links


  • Screenshots
  • Reactions (I like, love, etc.)
  • Comments
  • Share
  • Clicks on links
  • Miscellaneous Clicks



  • I like it
  • Comments


  • Screenshots
  • Direct messages received


  • Screenshots
  • I like it
  • Comments



  • I like it
  • RTs
  • Answers
  • Clicks on links
  • Profile Clicks
  • Open detail (images / gifs)


  • Reproductions
  • I like it
  • RTs
  • Answers


  • Leads taken
  • I like it
  • RTs
  • Answers

Suggested Article: Top 20 Social Media Management Tools for Internet Marketers

Formula to calculate engagement in social networks

The basic formula for calculating engagement is very simple and I’ll show it to you below. I remind you that I do not include the clicks of the publication or links because I use the CTR formulas to measure this part.

To land the formula I share a real example.

 Real example

15 like + 10 comments + 2 share  X 100
1400 people who viewed the post

Engagement Ratio : 27/1400 x 100 = 1.9%

Template for calculating the engagement ratio of several publications in Instagram

The above formula is used for a single publication, if you want to get the engagement for a whole month you must use a template in which you automatically enter the data of all your publications and generates the average engagement. I show you one of the templates that we use to calculate the engagement rate on Instagram. To complete the template you only have to put:

  • Publication date
  • Publication schedule
  • Content category (something that will help you quickly identify content that works and what does not)
  • Impressions
  • Scope
  • Engagement (total of interactions)

Then the template will automatically generate:

  • The engagement ratio of each publication. The best thing is that it automatically changes color. It turns red if engagement% or impressions are less than average and green if they are older. With this little Excel formula, I can quickly see what I have to improve and what I have to maintain and enhance.
  • Average impressions
  • The average reach
  • The average engagement
  • The average engagement ratio

Another formula for calculating engagement

The above formulas measure your engagement ratio based on the people who viewed your content. There is another formula used to determine engagement ratio with respect to the number of followers/fans you have.

For some companies, this formula is more real, but let’s face it, social networking algorithms like Facebook and Instagram limit us pretty much.

Difference between engagement formulas

Taking the Facebook post that I shared at the beginning of the article, I’ll show you how the numbers are using the two formulas.

Engagement Formula (people who viewed the content)

121   x 100 = 1.1%

Engagement Formula (total of fans / followers)

121   x 100 = 0.2%

Both formulas are valid; use the one that best fits your marketing goals. I share some ideas of when you could use each formula:

When to use the engagement formula (people who viewed the content)
  • To improve the content plan
  • To enhance organic conversions
  • To test new content
When to use the engagement formula (total fans/followers)
  • To revive inactive communities
  • To increase the reach of fans/followers

Formula to calculate the CTR of social networks

As I mentioned earlier, I like to measure clicks with the CTR formula. As you will see there are two formulas; the first one includes all the clicks of your post and the second (my favorite) includes the conversion clicks we got. This is the one that serves me most to make decisions.

 Actual example with Facebook posting (the one I shared with you above)

Actual example for general formula

1015 clicks X 100 = 9.4%

15 like + 10 comments + 2 share X 100
1400 people who viewed the post

I hope that with these formulas you can measure much better your presence in digital media.

If you have doubts write me in comments.

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